I Blame My Mum

I didn’t start training and competing in triathlons because I had a sudden urge to spend hours on a wind trainer.  Oh no.  My triathlon experience started with a conversation with my mum.

After I had gained around 20kgs during pregnancy (I stopped weighing toward the end) I really struggled with how my body had changed.  Despite being a bookworm growing up, I had always been active and fit and more recently, I had spent a lot of the time lifting at the gym.  Unfortunately after about 6 weeks into the pregnancy, I found that a full time job combined with morning sickness and a 3-4 hour commute left me with no energy to work out and I said hello to tummy settling carbs.  I felt like I had gone from really fit to really fat.  In an effort to combat the frustration I was feeling, I started running.  I had also splurged on a hybrid bike (I was so excited when I cycled for more than 10kms!) and had started swimming after Arya started swimming lessons.  I have a tendency (and I’m sure I’m not alone) to get excited about a new venture so I knew I had to set myself a goal or target before I fell off the bandwagon.  Cue, conversation with my mum, “Why don’t you try a triathlon? You’re already swimming, cycling, and running.” Naturally I thought she was crazy, but she quickly googled Bribie Tri and checked the distances of the Saturday afternoon first timer’s race and it actually look achievable.  I signed up then and there giving myself a whole week to prep.  After that first race I was hooked and mum has patiently been listening me talk about training and races ever since.

After a year and a half of listening to me babble, my longsuffering mum came and supported me at Sunshine Coast 70.3, easily my biggest race to date, enduring crowds and sunburns and it meant the world to me.  She said something after the race though that really caught my attention and encapsulated what I love about the sport.  It was that there were so many different people racing.  It wasn’t always the most athletic people out on the course, but all different sizes, shapes, and speeds.  I’ve been lucky enough to experience the support and encouraging nature of this crazy sport, but sometimes it’s easy to go down a rabbit hole on Instagram and think that everyone is a fit, ripped, spandex clad Adonis.  For an unfamiliar supporter to recognise the diversity and capability of each athlete lining up on the beach, it’s a great reminder that, yes, this sport is nutty, but we will take anyone, from any stage of fitness, and encourage them to achieve goals that they previously thought were unreachable.

So now that I am setting new goals, including a full Ironman, knowing all the time and effort (and money) involved, I am blaming my mum for suggesting that first step and supporting me, (even though she thinks it’s crazy to spend $1,000 on the entry to a single race).  Maybe one day I’ll convince her to give it a tri.

Leave a comment